Workspaces

A Workspace is an area in the Planning domain where you can create a workflowClosedA flow of jobs that execute at specific times, in a specific sequence, and with available resources that contains all your folders, sub-folders, and jobs. You can create a blank Workspace and add new folders, and jobs, as described in Creating a Workspace, or use existing jobs to create a new Workspace, as described in Creating a Workspace from Existing Jobs.

The following procedures describe how to manage your Workspace:

Creating a Workspace

This procedure describes how to create a Workspace, which enables you to create and define folders, sub-folders, and jobs.

Begin

  1. From the Home tab, click and select Add workspace.

    The Create New Workspace pane appears.

  2. Define the Workspace parameters, as described in Workspace Parameters.

  3. Click Create.

  4. Create a folder, sub-folder or job, as follows:

  5. Click Save.

    A Workspace is created.

Workspace Parameters

The following table describes the Workspace parameters that you must complete when Creating a Workspace:

Parameter

Description

Name

Defines the name of the Workspace.

Description

Provides a free text description of the Workspace.

Site Standard

Determines which Site StandardClosedA set of rules that are relevant to your organization and applied on the folder level, and that determines how users must define folders and jobs Control-M applies as the default to the folders in the Workspace. For more information, see Site Standards .

If Site Standard enforcement is enabled (see Defining System Settings), you must assign a default Site Standard.

Server

Defines the name of the Control-M/Server that runs the jobs.

Creating a Workspace from Existing Jobs

This procedure describes how to load and modify existing folders, sub-folders, and jobs in a new Workspace.

Begin

  1. From the Home tab, click Folders and Jobs.

  2. Do one or more of the following:

  3. Select the jobs you want to load and click Open.

    The Workspace opens in read-only mode.

  4. Select one of the following options:

    • Modify: Enables you to modify folder and job definitions in this Workspace.

    • Duplicate: Enables you to duplicate this Workspace.

  5. Click Save.

  6. From the Workspace toolbar, click .

    A confirmation message appears.

  7. Click Yes.

    The jobs are uploaded to the Server and the Workspace appears in the Home tab with a status of Checked in.

Exporting a Workspace

This procedure describes how to export a saved Workspace to a JSON file, which enables you to export job and folder definitions and later import them to the same or another environment, as described in Loading Job Definitions from a File.

Begin

Loading Job Definitions from a File

This procedure describes how to load existing job definitions from a JSON file. The imported job definitions appear in a Workspace.

Begin

  1. From the Home tab, click and select Load from file....

  2. Select the file you want to load and click Open.

    The job definitions are loaded into a Workspace in read-only mode.

  3. Select one of the following options:

    • Modify: Enables you to modify folder and job definitions, and save as a new Workspace. Changes made to the new Workspace overwrite the existing folder names and events.

    • Duplicate: Enables you to duplicate folder and job definitions, and save as a new Workspace. Duplicating a Workspace adds a suffix to the folder name and events.

  4. For each parameter, type the required values, as described in Workspace Parameters.

  5. Click Save.

  6. From the Workspace toolbar, click .

    A confirmation message appears.

  7. Click Yes.

    The jobs are uploaded to the Server and the Workspace appears in the Home tab with a status of Checked in.

Taking Ownership of the Workspace of Another User

This procedure describes how to take ownership of the Workspace of another user, which enables you to review and edit a Workspace.

Begin

  1. From the Home tab, click Others Work.

  2. Select the Workspace that you want to review.

    The Workspace opens in a read-only mode.

  3. Click Take Ownership.

    The Workspace is now owned by you and appears in the My Work area in the Home tab.